Forever Nigella: Seasonal Sensations

As I am sure most of you know, I am a massive fan of Nigella Lawson. I love her food, style and general enthusiasm for life as a whole. I have often said to friends and family that I would like to live in between Nigella and Nigel Slater.  Just think of the dinner parties, you could be invited to….

Anyway enough dreaming! I was very pleased when Sarah at Maison Cupcake launched a new monthly blogging challenge dedicated to Nigella. It is called Forever Nigella and each month, it will have a theme chosen by a host and you must use Nigella’s recipes as inspiration and cook a dish according to it. This month’s theme is Seasonal Sensations and could include anything from winter warming dishes to Christmas party food. There is still a week left to take part, so if you would like to, read the rules here and submit by next Sunday 16th January.

For my seasonal sensation, I submit a Nigella inspired hybrid recipe. It is a hybrid recipe as it is actually inspired by two of her recipes, not just one which are Rocky Road bars from Nigella Express and Crunch Nut bars from Nigella Kitchen. I made the bars in exactly the same way I make my Rocky Road normally, as shown here but replaced the peanuts with rice krispies as I dislike peanuts. I have called them, in what I hope is a Nigella-esq title ‘Indulgent Krispie Crunch Bars’.

Indulgent Krispie Crunch Bars

Ingredients

  • 200g unsalted butter, cut into chunks
  • 5 tablespoons Golden Syrup
  • 400g milk chocolate, broken up into bits
  • 4 crunchie bars or homemade honeycomb, broken up into bits (I used a freezer bag and pestle (from pestle and mortar) to break up mine
  • couple of handfuls of rice krispies
  • Icing sugar, for dusting

Method

  1. In a large saucepan, melt together the butter, golden syrup and chocolate. Melt it slowly otherwise you can burn the chocolate.
  2. Once melted, take off the heat and add in the bits of crunchie or honeycomb, along with the rice krispies. Stir everything thoroughly and make sure everything is coated with chocolate.
  3. Pour into a foil tray (like Nigella!) or pour into tray lined with baking parchment (like Jo!) and flatten mix down with wooden spoon or spatula.
  4. Put in fridge and allow to set for 6 hours or overnight. Dust with icing sugar and cut into squares. Enjoy!

I made this for a couple of family Christmas parties and everyone really loved it. I think it was my seasonal sensation! I hope you make it and love it too!

Happy Cooking! :-)

 

5 responses to “Forever Nigella: Seasonal Sensations

  1. Gosh, they look absolutely yummy!

  2. That sounds like a good adaptation, I did something similar with that recipe when I produced my “rocky road to ruin” post before Christmas.

    Thanks very much for taking part in the first Forever Nigella and I look forward to seeing you in future months.

  3. They do look very tasty, indeed. I’m new to Nigella, so for this event I made my first ever Nigella recipe. I chuckle at some of the things Nigella says, in person and in print. What is your favourite thing that she has said? I’m intrigued by her outlandish language and comments. :)

  4. Pingback: Forever Nigella #1 Round Up and Winners | maisoncupcake.com

Leave a Reply

